Selecting sitka spruce. Too heavy?

You can ask questions here about Trevor and Gerard's exciting new book on Luthiery.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

Thibaud
Gidgee

Selecting sitka spruce. Too heavy?

Post by Thibaud » Mon Feb 27, 2023 10:10 am

Hi,

I am going to build my second guitar and I am going through the process of selecting tops using Trevor's method.

I have a Sitka spruce top "master grade" that is causing me doubts about its weight. My sitka top have a predicted weight of 186 grm.

Since no data are listed on the table 4.5-3 on sitka spruce, I am basing my observation on the paragraphe below the table.

It says: "All the above wood except the Port Orford cedar and western redcedar samples 17 and 18 made excellent guitars."

Those samples are all above the 169 gramms.

Would you reject that particular piece of wood or is it normal for sitka as it is a heavier wood?

Here is my spread sheet. The first line is my piece of wood, the second line is the first Engelmann spruce listed in the table as a comparaison.

http://www.anzlf.com/download/file.php? ... w&id=22548

Thanks for your help
Best regards
Thibaud
Attachments
Capture d’écran 2023-02-26 à 23.51.54.png
spreadsheet

GregHolmberg
Myrtle

Re: Selecting sitka spruce. Too heavy?

Post by GregHolmberg » Mon Feb 27, 2023 6:25 pm

Thibaud--

It makes me happy to see my spreadsheet being used!

I had the same thought about that paragraph. He seems to be implying that for this guitar, a 390x490mm OOO size, that 169g (the POC, #11 and #12) is too much. Also, he said that sample WRC #17 was too heavy at 165g. The Engelmann averaged 146g.

These are his standards for a "master grade guitar". I'm sure many good guitars have been made with 165g tops. So I guess you just have to decide what your personal standards are. This might require iterative refinement over several builds.