Tap testing the panels - help, what am I seeing?

You can ask questions here about Trevor and Gerard's exciting new book on Luthiery.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

joel
Blackwood

Tap testing the panels - help, what am I seeing?

Post by joel » Mon Sep 26, 2022 5:26 pm

Hi all.

Yeah, yeah, tap testing panels... Bet you all thought you were over that didn't you? Well, it's my first time to this party. I've read some threads and gleaned some good tips to help me record decent VA spectrographs. But I'm getting some weirdness in the spectrographs for cross grain vibration modes for both my Adirondack top and EIR back. They both have double peaks, and the frequency is higher than expected.

Vital Stats:
Top - Adirondack. 4.6 x 558 x 199mm. 232g. It's pretty dense compared to other spruce values in the books, but I haven't seen other Adirondack values listed anywhere so it could be typical? Dunno. Currently getting 3.07mm thickness. Seems a little on the thick side.
Back - EIR. 3.6 x 530 x 199mm. 293g. Target thickness = 2.2mm

First off, lets look at the long grain vibration mode. I think these are pretty clear.
Top fL - 68Hz.jpg
Good strong peak at 68Hz for the top
Back fL - 51Hz.jpg
And a good strong peak at 51Hz for the back

Here are my problem children, the cross grain vibration modes.
Top fC - 191Hz.jpg
As you can see there is a strong double peak. The peak with the greatest magnitude is 191Hz, the second peak is 233Hz
Back fC - 196Hz.jpg
And again, a strong double peak. The peak with greatest magnitude is 196Hz, and the second peak is 167Hz

The twisting vibration modes look pretty good.
Top fLC - 59Hz.jpg
Strong peak at 59Hz.
Back fLC - 49Hz.jpg
Strong peak at 49Hz.