Jointrookie Whimsy T1

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

vikingcode
Gidgee

Jointrookie Whimsy T1

Post by vikingcode » Tue May 27, 2014 10:01 pm

Hello all,

I'm a relatively newbie to the world of woodworking, picking up the hobby last year. I am not a luthier, but I am from Australia, so thats half the qualifications for the forum, right?

Diving into the vast amount of content online, youtube in particular, eventually I stumbled across the Jointmaker Pro and then laughed heartily when I saw the money they wanted to charge for it. It was something I really badly wanted, but not at that expense. Eventually I stumbled across Marcus' (charangohabsburg) Jointapprentice Hobby A1 that he made a few years back.

I've now developed my skills enough that I could actually build that! Speaking with Marcus about it though, he didn't have any plans drawn up. I've decided that I will draw up some plans (sketchup) and make those freely available once I've finished the build (can't have anybody beating me to the punch! or more accurately, things might change as I break/fail).

Once all said and done, there will be a build video on my youtube channel, but for now bear with me as I spam a build log at you!

Jointrookie Whimsy T1

I'm going to do a few things a little different from Marcus - I'm opting for an 'easier' table build by going for the more expensive option, steel shaft with linear, rather than drawer slides. This is a personal preference, but a secret reason is that eventually I may build a CNC router and getting to play with those sorts of parts is a good excuse.

Secondly looking at the 'height limitation' of the Jointapprentice, I'm going for gears to lower/raise the blade assembly. I'm benefiting from Marcus' research where he found the patents that show how the JMP uses gears for that. I think the wedge system is the cause of the limitation, and a steeper angle or much longer wedge is needed to increase the vertical travel (somebody correct me on this one!).

Parts