Pore fill question

Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

shane77
Gidgee

Pore fill question

Post by shane77 » Tue Mar 07, 2023 9:54 am

I'm currently finishing a blackwood acoustic body... after pore-filling with Zpoxy (2 coats) and then shooting a few coats of lacquer (Mirotone 3220), I realised my pore-filling attempts were not great...I still have pinholing in areas.
I've never used the Zpoxy before so I may have sanded off too much. Is it possible to redo another Zpoxy coat over the top of the lacquer, before adding more coats, or am I stuck with my substandard efforts?

kiwigeo
Admin

Re: Pore fill question

Post by kiwigeo » Tue Mar 07, 2023 10:52 am

The first thing you need to decide when using epoxy as a pore filler is whether to aim to fill just the pores (ie sanding back area between pores to bare wood) or to finish up with an even layer of epoxy over the entire surface. I opt for the former when using epoxy.

I know Z poxy can be used over shellac..not sure about lacquer. I suggest you get a piece of scrap blackwood and pore fill, spray lacquer and then apply some more Z poxy.

I used to use Zpoxy but have moved to using Boatcote epoxy with their special thinner added to the mix.
shane77 wrote:
Tue Mar 07, 2023 9:54 am
I'm currently finishing a blackwood acoustic body... after pore-filling with Zpoxy (2 coats) and then shooting a few coats of lacquer (Mirotone 3220), I realised my pore-filling attempts were not great...I still have pinholing in areas.
I've never used the Zpoxy before so I may have sanded off too much. Is it possible to redo another Zpoxy coat over the top of the lacquer, before adding more coats, or am I stuck with my substandard efforts?
Martin

shane77
Gidgee

Post by shane77 » Tue Mar 07, 2023 11:34 am

Thanks- agree testing would be safest...