Finishing by hand...what to use?

Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

gratay
Blackwood

Finishing by hand...what to use?

Post by gratay » Sun Sep 14, 2008 10:08 am

First off , let me say . I have no experience in applying finish.

I want to do a finish by hand...especially hand rubbed.. I don't have spray facilities and i don't really want to use a brush.
I have been looking at either french polish/hard shellac type finish or tru-oil.
I've been reading the Milburn tutorial and it looks pretty comprehensive.

Some things I have been wondering are..
Is it better to seal with z-poxy and then maybe french polish with ubeaut hard shellac? will these products work together.?
or is it better to use the old method of pumice as outlined in the tutorial.?

Tru-oil has me intrigued but I'm wondering how it goes using it on an oily timber like rosewood? and I'm not so sure about using it on a soundboard?

While I'm waiting for some bridge tools to turn up I may as well get the ball rolling with practising my finish on some scrap.

cheers Grant

kiwigeo
Admin

Post by kiwigeo » Sun Sep 14, 2008 10:40 am

Hi Grant,

Im a hand finish man....all instruments to date have been French polished. The first classical was pore filled using pumice as per the Milburn tutorial and turned out ok. Pumice filling is a laborious method of pore filling and is a pain when you get too much pumice building up. One thing I found also was that if you spend too much time working pumice you get leaching of the colour out of rosewoods.

Subsequent guitars have been pore filled using Z-poxy. Two coats neat and a final coat thinned 50% with alcohol. All coats sanded back to bare wood. Z-Poxy is now my preferred pore filling method.