How much time does it take you to build an Acoustic?

Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

Deems Davis
Sassafras

How much time does it take you to build an Acoustic?

Post by Deems Davis » Fri Apr 15, 2016 3:55 am

I am curious as to what the experience of this group is. I'm new to this, just finishing up my 2nd SS, and while I'm loving the process/s I get a bit frustrated in how long it takes me. I have learned that my "build time" is related to the skills or lack there of and the greatest part being not necessarily the " What to do" part (many thanks to Trevor and Gerard for this) but the "How to do it" (using the right tools and using them properly) and I'm hopeful that as I get more experience under my belt that productivity will rise. I'm "retired" so the time element is not a survival situation.
So I'm curious as to what I should hope to aspire to when I've got skills mastered and many more builds logged.

For those who are much further down this road than I:

1. How long does it take you to build an acoustic? (elapsed time or hours/days)

2. Was there are point where improving your skills didn't result in increased productivity? if so how many builds in were you?

As always, greatly appreciate all feedback

Deems

Nick
Blackwood

Re: How much time does it take you to build an Acoustic?

Post by Nick » Fri Apr 15, 2016 6:16 am

1. I work full time (on a different vocation) so when I'm in full build mode it can be 4-5 hours in the evenings and the same on a Saturday so roughly 24-30 hrs/week for three months so between 285-360 hours