Hi and a question about a 12 string acoustic build

Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

Blackstar1099
Beefwood

Hi and a question about a 12 string acoustic build

Post by Blackstar1099 » Sat Mar 12, 2016 3:14 pm

I've been lurking for a while but this is my first post so hello everyone . Some seriously talented and experienced people here. I hope to learn a lot. I've built 10 electrics and 1 acoustic so far so I've got some experience under my belt.

I've just started on a 12 string acoustic and I'm wondering what I need to add/change as opposed to a 6 string other than the obvious. I used Chris Wynne's DVD and my reference for my 6 string and it came out really well. I've purchased some plans from ALS that call for more bracing on the soundboard and a 48mm fretboard width at the nut. Do I need to add more reinforcement to the neck other than a standard truss rod? i.e. carbon fibre rod? Any other tips would be appreciated.

kiwigeo
Admin

Re: Hi and a question about a 12 string acoustic build

Post by kiwigeo » Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:58 pm

Blackstar1099 wrote:I've been lurking for a while but this is my first post so hello everyone . Some seriously talented and experienced people here. I hope to learn a lot. I've built 10 electrics and 1 acoustic so far so I've got some experience under my belt.

I've just started on a 12 string acoustic and I'm wondering what I need to add/change as opposed to a 6 string other than the obvious. I used Chris Wynne's DVD and my reference for my 6 string and it came out really well. I've purchased some plans from ALS that call for more bracing on the soundboard and a 48mm fretboard width at the nut. Do I need to add more reinforcement to the neck other than a standard truss rod? i.e. carbon fibre rod? Any other tips would be appreciated.
Major changes: