repairing an old Gibson J50 -1968

Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

rumina
Gidgee

repairing an old Gibson J50 -1968

Post by rumina » Thu Nov 12, 2015 8:45 pm

Hello to all,
I am a luthier hobbyist and this is my first post .. so ask forgiveness immediately for any error in my post.
I am currently repairing an old Gibson J50 1968.
this is what I discovered by removing the top:
- The top is bent toward the soundhole and has several cracks
- The bridge has been replaced several times;
- The original bridge plate was removed and replaced with large pieces of spruce (total plate thickness: 12 mm);
- The X bracings were ruined and broken; They were added over time various pieces of Brazilian rosewood to reinforce the structure.
So, I think to do so:
- Remaking completely top (I have available the beautiful Sitka spruce boards cut in the 70s) + new Top bracing (original vintage scheme and bracings dimensions)
- Strengthen the structure by removing the original kerfing and putting reverse kerfing;
- Graphite flying buttress (thanks to you, Master Rick Turner).
Is it worth it to redo the top and add all these reinforcements?
Or clean up the original top (removing the warping with steam)?
What do you think?
thank you..
Attachments
Copia di IMG_0013.JPG
original top (warped, cracked, etc)
Copia di IMG_0012.JPG
warped top
Copia di IMG_0011.JPG
bracings+reinforcings+....etc..

kiwigeo
Admin

Re: repairing an old Gibson J50 -1968

Post by kiwigeo » Thu Nov 12, 2015 9:04 pm

That guitar has had a hard life......the underside of the top looks like a donkey's breakfast :shock:

The bridge plate area is a war zone....12mm thick spruce has been stuck in this area? With that heavy looking bridge that top must be as stiff as a dead dingo's dinger :shock: