Pickup for Acoustic Bass Guitar

Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

H3ytm@n
Blackwood

Pickup for Acoustic Bass Guitar

Post by H3ytm@n » Thu Sep 03, 2015 10:11 am

Hi All,
I've been asked to install a pickup (+/- preamp) in an acoustic bass guitar. The owner has no particular preference re brands, but would like the bass to sound as "natural" as possible.
I have no experience in installing pickups in acoustic basses, but have been particularly impressed with K&K's in acoustic 6-string guitar.

Any thoughts?
Preferences?
Anecdotes?

Thanks in advance :git
Mike

aljosha
Kauri

Re: Pickup for Acoustic Bass Guitar

Post by aljosha » Thu Sep 03, 2015 12:06 pm

quiet frankly I just know the k&k, for standard systems, which is pretty decent in sound imho
but at least worth a thought is this one or something comparable
http://www.lacemusic.com/USAB.php

can be installed like a archtop pickup, with a bit of work too, lets call that floating for now
and then you get a quiet versatile instrument, depending on the position
or just tape/glue it on

it's more on the side of an electric sound than acoustic, but then again, most plywood doghouses dont sound good anyhow...
so an EQ is needed anyhow...

I installed one of those before, and played it on stage a while later too, not my bass
it does sound somewhat similar to a doublebass
I go with my fretless jazzy though, preferably
best acoustic bass sound possible ;)

btw, the guy I installed it for played the first half of the first gig after installing it without turning his amp on, without noticing :toi
sometimes the bass player is just there to make the stage look a bit more crowded... :lol:

best
j

H3ytm@n
Blackwood

Post by H3ytm@n » Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:46 am

Thanks j,
I've heard LR Baggs Lyric pickups are good as well, but have only heard reports and sound clips from 6-string Steel guitars installations.
Haven't been able to find much on the net re use with ABGs.