Clamps and other handy tools

Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

mickeyj4j
Blackwood

Clamps and other handy tools

Post by mickeyj4j » Sat Jun 27, 2015 9:31 pm

Hi all I am a small hobbyist. I am looking at expanding my skill into some basic instrument making. I am starting with this DIY Cajon Drum. And I may make other percussion and if Iman I may get to stage of a stringed instrument.
I don't have a workshop or dedicated work space just doing it in my house. If I need to sand I try to do this outside on a fine day.
I have a few things orbital sander, hot glue gun, sanding block, drill, drill bits, hole saw, soldering iron and gear, small clamp on table vice, screw drivers, and a few other small things.
I am looking for ideas of basic tools that may come in handy for DIY and small instrument building. Was thinking king of
  1. Portable Workbench: something similar to the workmate that I can fold way for easy storage.
  2. Clamps: to compleat my DIY Cajon Drum mentioned above I need some clamps for small projects. Was thinking of G (aka C), or F type. Are there any others I could look at.
What else do you think may be useful for someone fairly new to this stuff.
Just a simple musician who plays for fun and enjoymet here.

dotbot
Kauri

Re: Clamps and other handy tools

Post by dotbot » Sun Jun 28, 2015 11:00 am

I've been going through the same process in the last few months, focused on string instruments, and primarily hand tools. The big machinery will come along eventually, if I'm lucky.