Bench chisels or Paring chisels?

Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

Cloverfield
Kauri

Bench chisels or Paring chisels?

Post by Cloverfield » Wed Jun 24, 2015 1:08 pm

Hi guys,

I'm a newbie here so please pardon my ignorance if this has been covered many times before.

I'm looking at going down the wonderful world of guitar making, I was initially inspired by the amazing work that Per Marklund has been posting over at the UMGF forum - have a look if you haven't seen his work, truly amazing. So I thought I'd attempt a 00-12 fret build but then decided it might be easier to attempt an electric first. So I thought I'd build something similar to the amazing Rickenbacker 850 Combo (below) as I was quite taken with its lines and then I got to reading about the 'German Carve' used on the tops and ended up on forums discussing carved topped PRS guitars - which I normally don't like. But then I found the PRS McCartny Korina Soapbar which is just beautiful and thought, lets start here!

:gui

So now I am looking at buying some quality hand tools for the job, I've got my eye on some Liogier rasps and a Veritas spokeshave, but I am stumped with chisels.

Finally: A question....

Given that I would like to build both acoustic and electric instruments eventually - should I buy a good set of paring chisels, as recommended by Cumpiano in his Guitarmaking Refernece book - or would a good set of bench chisels like the Ashley Iles Mk II be suitable for most tasks?

Thanks in advance!

~~~Simon

56nortondomy
Blackwood

Re: Bench chisels or Paring chisels?

Post by 56nortondomy » Wed Jun 24, 2015 7:05 pm

Welcome to the forum, if you tell us your name we'll know what to call you. I just use bench chisels, i have cranked one to make it easier to shape braces, as long as they're sharp that's the main thing.
Wayne

kiwigeo
Admin

Post by kiwigeo » Wed Jun 24, 2015 9:51 pm