Spray Gun Cabinet

Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

simso
Blackwood

Spray Gun Cabinet

Post by simso » Sun Jun 14, 2015 5:12 pm

Does anyone store there spray guns in a cabinet, if you do, do you have photos.

Trying to do some cleaning up, and am after some ideas.

Steve
Steve
Master of nothing,

Do your own repairs - http://www.mirwa.com.au/How_to_Series.html

Mat
Myrtle

Re: Spray Gun Cabinet

Post by Mat » Mon Jun 15, 2015 12:57 pm

My father is a French polisher by trade and stores his guns on the side of tool cupboard hanging of some angled screws. He always keeps some retarder thinner in the pots, as that keeps the seals from drying out. I'm not sure if putting them in a cupboard would be wise with any fumes coming out of the breather holes. However, with 40 years in the game the appears to be working for him.

Now to take him up on those lessons he been telling me about.

demonx
Blackwood

Post by demonx » Mon Jun 15, 2015 4:32 pm

I have a metal case that they get stored in after I break them down and clean them. They get broken down and cleaned after every use.

I would not ever leave liquids sitting in the guns for longer than the time they are being used, since I'm mostly using 2k products that would be a quick way to turn a gun into bin filler.

simso
Blackwood

Post by simso » Mon Jun 15, 2015 7:09 pm

Thanks guys,

I am actually of the type that stores some thinners in his gun when not in use, my old man taught me that one and he was a spray painter for over 30 yrs. The reason is so you can keep using the spray gun day after day with minimal cleaning. But if you clean it completley and store it away, that works too.