bote cote

Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

inoz
Kauri

bote cote

Post by inoz » Sun Jun 07, 2015 7:17 pm

Hi All,

I usually use z-poxy to pore fill, it ran out so thought I'd try bote cote this time.
I left it overnight to dry but it still felt tacky.
It's been a little cold in Perth, not too bad so I left it 48 hours to be safe.
When I went to sand, it balled and picked up like crap. Checked the ratio was correct at 2:1, all good....any thoughts?

Thanks,
Ray.

56nortondomy
Blackwood

Re: bote cote

Post by 56nortondomy » Sun Jun 07, 2015 7:31 pm

Maybe your ratio was a little off Ray. I've been using it for a couple of years and never had a problem, and i'm sure Melb. is as cold if not colder than Perth ( i lived there for 4 years ). I use syringes to mix mine and they're spot on with quantity.
Wayne

kiwigeo
Admin

Post by kiwigeo » Sun Jun 07, 2015 7:54 pm

Check mixing ratios, age of the product and ambient temperature in your workshop.

I warm the shop up for any resin work and for measuring out quantities of resin and hardener I use syringes (I'm using West systems resin).

I've found temperature can affect curing time by many hours. Yesterday I didn't crank up the heater prior to working with the resin and it took about 12 hours to fully cure. Today I had the shop warmed up and the stuff was rock hard in about 5 hours.
Martin

inoz
Kauri

Post by inoz » Sun Jun 07, 2015 9:58 pm

I use digital scales so it'd be +/- 1 gram ???
I'll try heating the place up a bit next time.
Thanks guys.

Allen
Blackwood

Post by Allen » Mon Jun 08, 2015 6:14 am

The weight the ratio is not the same as the volume ratio. This is from Ian at Boatcraft Pacific.
Hello Allen,

The weight ratio is 44 parts of hardener to 100 parts of resin.

For the first coat, add TPRDA, 20% by weight of the mix. So if making 15 grams, use 10 grams of resin, 4.4 grams of hardener and 2.88 grams of TPRDA.