Side bending alternatives...

Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

Insomnomaniac
Myrtle

Side bending alternatives...

Post by Insomnomaniac » Sat Oct 22, 2011 12:43 am

Ok, after some pretty major financial setbacks, I am FINALLY getting around to starting on my first uke...

Money is still very tight, so I'm trying to save some money where I can. Being a carpenter I have most of the tools I will need (or at least ways and means of improvising) but one thing which is throwing me a little is a side bending iron. I don't want to spend $250-300 (plus shipping) on a side bending iron which I may not end up using very much (straight away). Can anyone suggest a workable alternative that won't break the bank? I work at Bunnings, so anything I can source through there would be an advantage (staff discount and all...).

Help!
Ian

Carpenter turned Knifemaker, now tentatively trying Luthiery as yet another hobby on the list...

WaddyT
Blackwood

Re: Side bending alternatives...

Post by WaddyT » Sat Oct 22, 2011 2:12 am

I know stuff is different where you are, but here is the one I made. My cost is less than $50. Parts = truck replacement tail pipe section from auto supply store (cut in half, split one half down the length and squeezed it inside the other half for mass), scrap wood, electric charcoal starter from a home improvement center (squeezed to fit in pipe), grill thermometer, jar lid in end, and finally a router speed controller for temperature control. I have a blanket and you can see the form, which I use as a check for my bending, but I still (working on #10 now) use the iron and hand bend. It's just too easy, and I get no spring back.
P1030062 (Large).JPG
P1030062 (Large).JPG (71.37 KiB) Viewed 19180 times
Waddy

Build Albums 12 done - 1 in process

Clip for #1 Barrios' "Una Limosna por el Amor de Dios" - Not me playing

jeffhigh
Blackwood

Post by jeffhigh » Sat Oct 22, 2011 5:06 am