Scraper Blades

Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

ozziebluesman
Blackwood

Scraper Blades

Post by ozziebluesman » Sat Apr 30, 2011 1:29 pm

I have no experience using scraper blades but would like to start using them in my shop.

What sizes, shape and thickness are best for use in guitar building?

The Robbie Obrien scraper video has great info on sharpening but not much on scraper size shape etc

Any tips, pictures suggestions will be appreciated.

Cheers

Alan
"Play to express, not to impress"

Alan Hamley

http://www.hamleyfineguitars.com/

Allen
Blackwood

Re: Scraper Blades

Post by Allen » Sat Apr 30, 2011 1:44 pm

I've got your standard rectangular scraper and it's pretty good for most things. Get a good one because the edge holds up a fair bit longer than a cheap one.

I've also got a selection of thick heavy duty ones ranging from 6mm wide to 30mm. They are actually tool steel sharpened for mini planes that I need to build one day. Held about 90 degrees to the job in the finger tips they just peel off things like cured epoxy pore fill and tidy up hard to get at corners etc.
Allen R. McFarlen
https://www.brguitars.com
Facebook
Cairns, Australia

ozziebluesman
Blackwood

Post by ozziebluesman » Sat Apr 30, 2011 2:05 pm

G'day Allen,

I bought a cheap set on ebay and they are very thick with not much give in them.

Maybe the thinner half millimeter thick blade might be better for our use?

I also will have to scrape the re-curve on my archtop at sometime in the future so I'm thinking I need something with a curve.

Cheers

Alan

Alan Hamley

Allen
Blackwood

Post by Allen » Sat Apr 30, 2011 2:11 pm

I've got thin sets but never reach for them. The steel wasn't very good and just weren't a joy to sharpen and use. But for something like recurves on arch tops then it's probably the go. I've not got to that point, so not the one to comment on what's best there.
Allen R. McFarlen
https://www.brguitars.com