Joining Question

Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

needsmorecowbel
Blackwood

Joining Question

Post by needsmorecowbel » Sun Mar 13, 2011 9:01 pm

Good evening saw this and was scratching my head a little:
http://www.lenaweelutherie.info/page6/p ... age18.html

I would have thought that utilising only tape and a weight/ clamps for joining the soundboard plates on the centre seam would not be ideal as the tape wouldn't provide enough sideways/ lateral pressure on the board (i would presume). In Cumpiano's book he uses 4 clamps and 4 chocks to tap the two plates together and utilises a clamp/ weighted object to keep the centre seem down instead of bending up/ pitching up.

I have no experience in joining plates so any suggestions would be much appreciated regarding clever/ inventive/ fairly foolproof ways to do it...I imagine Titebond would be sufficient a glue to glue the plates together with...I have 2 bottles of the stuff that i bought new but they have a fairly pungent odor of PVA which i always thought was a sign that it had gone off. Please correct me if i am wrong about that.

Stu

ozziebluesman
Blackwood

Re: Joining Question

Post by ozziebluesman » Sun Mar 13, 2011 9:28 pm

G'day Stu,

I've been using this method for joining tops and backs for sometime now with good results. You have to make sure the seam is absolutely a perfect fit with no gaps. If the plate joining edges are perfect you only need minimal force to make a good join. Hide glue will give you a superior glue joint although Titebon is used by many builders. I use the tape you can buy form Stu Mac for this job. It is strong and sticks very well. Care is needed when taking it off to so you don't damage the surface especially spruce.

Titebond usually has very little smell so I would be wary of using what you have. Others may have more experience and can advice you better.

Cheers

Alan
"Play to express, not to impress"

Alan Hamley