Dimensions of bits and pieces for a tenor ukulele

Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

mooshalah
Myrtle

Dimensions of bits and pieces for a tenor ukulele

Post by mooshalah » Sun Feb 06, 2011 9:36 pm

Hello all!

I'm a brand-new member, and this is my first post. I hope it works!

I'm an amateur luthier in Emerald, Melbourne, making classical, flamenco and steel-string guitars and have decided to turn my hand to making a few tenor ukuleles as a diversion. I've decided on the overall shape and dimensions, I've made a few templates and moulds, and been cutting and jointing bits of Birdseye Maple, Blackwood, Sitka- and Engelmann Spuce, and even some Ancient Kauri in preparation for making two or three instruments.

I've done the usual stuff; hunted around on the internet for free plans (could only find for a soprano instrument); downloaded the StewMac manual for assembling their tenor ukulele kit; copied bits and pieces of photo's, opinions and websites, and taken overall dimensions for instruments from a variety of places.

But nowhere have I been able to find a mention of - in particular - sizes of either back and soundboard braces (of course, this will depend on the bracing pattern), thickness of fingerboard (if it's to be a piece of wood separate from the neck; I'm guessing around 3mm), opinions of thicknesses for sides, back and soundboard (depends on materials, but I'm guessing 1.5 - 2 mm for hardwoods, and 2 - 2.4 mm spruce soundboards) and comfortable thickness (not width) of the neck at the nut andthe 12th (or 14th) frets.

Also - and maybe it's not absolutely critical on a thing like a ukulele - what sort of string action height (in milimeters) should one be aiming for at the 12th (or 14th) fret? (And as an aside, any views on things like bothering to put a slight radius on the fingerboard, or 12 versus 14 frets to the body?)