Weissenborn Copy Build

Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

Bob Connor
Admin

Weissenborn Copy Build

Post by Bob Connor » Sat Nov 20, 2010 6:09 pm

I have just received some very nice plans for Weissenborn copy from Gwenn.

I had them printed off during the week and have spent the last couple of days making templates and molds for both this Weissenborn and for a Size 5 (Terz) guitar.

Gwenn asked if I'd do a thread about constructing the Weissy so here it is. I've never built one of these beast before so it'll be an interesting exercise to say the least.

I have some Tasmanian Blackwood for the back and sides and some Surian (Toona Calanta - I think) that I got from Maurie Howlett for the top.

I'm not going to follow the bracing of the top from the plan but adapt it to the lattice bracing that I'm using in my normal guitars. So about all I'll use is the body outline and the x-brace position.

The sides will be double laminations and I'll use some carbon fibre in the area under the end of the fingerboard.

Should be an interesting project and I'm really looking forward to it.

Here are the first pics of the completed mold and almost complete side bending form.
IMG_1049.JPG
IMG_1051.JPG
Bob, Geelong

Mainwaring and Connor Guitars

Gwenn
Wandoo

Re: Weissenborn Copy Build

Post by Gwenn » Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:46 pm

Hi Bob,

I'll be following this thread with a lot of interest! I feel quite honoured to play a little role in your experiment as well! There are two things in your project I want to follow very closely: side double lamination and your lattice bracing design...

As I told you in my email, my plan is the sum of the information I've been gathering on "orthodox" weissenborn construction, but in the future, I'd like to experiment other paths. In this regard, I find Tasmanian luthier Daniel Brauchli particularly inspirational..

anyways, I wish you a lot of fun with this project!

Gwenn

ozziebluesman