Hello to all

Talk about musical instrument construction, setup and repair.

Moderators: kiwigeo, Jeremy D

JayC
Gidgee

Hello to all

Post by JayC » Thu Feb 12, 2009 11:16 pm

Hi my names Jay. I've been lurking around this excellent forum for a while and thought I should introduce myself. I've been building for a few years now in between a busy family life, work and fixing as many guitars to gain experience as I can. I've managed to build 3 guitars so far, number #1 a rosewood dreadnought, #2 a Queensland Maple small body cutaway, #3 was a Queensland Maple acoustic bass. I've always had a passion for playing and guitars in general and I owe my startup in lutherie to a mentor who has a lot of experience and I owe him a great deal for his patience and willingness to share his knowledge.

I hope I can add my own "two cents worth" along the way and be an active part of your community.

I've Uploaded a couple of pictures of the dreadie and small body I will get a picture of the bass if your interested. I don't have one on the hard drive because I just had to give it to a friend who is a pro bass player loved it so much and played it so beautifully.

Kim
Admin

Post by Kim » Fri Feb 13, 2009 5:31 am

Hi Jay,

Welcome to the ANZLF 8)

Nice looking work and yes we are very interested in seeing images of your acoustic bass. Also looking forward to your 2c worth in the future.

Cheers

Kim

Mark McLean
Blackwood

Post by Mark McLean » Fri Feb 13, 2009 5:58 am

Hi Jay, and welcome to ANZLF. That is very nice work for your first two builds. They are traditional but with nice individual touches, like the bridge shape and the rosettes. The cutaway worked out well. What did you use to finish them? It achieved a good-looking gloss.
cheers
Mark

Allen
Blackwood

Post by Allen » Fri Feb 13, 2009 6:41 am